Top Ten Tuesday (2)

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and Bookish So, today’s Top Ten Tuesday is a fun one: Favorite Authors in X Genre.For this I have chosen YA Contemporary as the genre. Here’s the thing: I’ve only been reading YA Contemps for less than a year now. So. I’m going to include five favorites, and then five that I want to read in the next few months.

  1. John Green. Sadly, I had not read anything by him until earlier this year, which is insane. And my first read by him was A Fault in our Stars, which was unbelievably amazing and heart breaking, the characters were quirky and fragile and… awesome. I actually picked up Will Grayson, Will Grayson from the library and will be reading that soon. It’s one that he co-wrote with David Levithan and I am really looking forward to reading it.
  2. Kirsten Hubbard. She is another new favorite, she has only had two books published so far. I read Wanderlove a few months ago and was blown away by how beautiful it was. So, I also picked up her 2011 debut, Like Mandarin from the library. I haven’t had the chance yet to read it. But that will be another book I read soon!
  3. Stephanie Perkins. I literally JUST read Anna and the French Kiss. This weekend. It was a perfect light, contemporary read. I will be searching out the sequel book soon. It was just so well written– the voice in which it was told was so honest, and believable. Loved. It. And I am sure that I will enjoy other books by Perkins. I wish I hadn’t fought reading this for so long!
  4. Ellen Hopkins. She is the well known author of Crank, Glass and several others written in verse. She has the ability to write about such deep and ugly issues– but she writes about them so beautifully. I’ve read two of her novels so far, and definitely plan to read more of them.
  5. Laurie Halse Anderson. She is the author of the well-known Speak, as well as Wintergirls,  and Twisted. I have read a few of her books, and Speak is one of my all-time favorites. It was one of the first books that deeply touched me, back when I was still in high school. I did a re-read of Speak for Banned Books Week and it reminded me of how much I love her writing. I hope to get through all of the books that she has written, too.

And the five YA Contemp Authors I want to try (in the next six months!):

  1. Rachel Cohn. I have heard some great things about her writing, and really want to read Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist. Plus, she will be coming to my local book fair in May, and I would really prefer to have read some of her books!
  2. David Levithan. He has co-wrote with John Green, and Rachel Cohn. And he’s also got several books out. My birthday is this weekend and I will be picking up Every Day. I have read the synopsis and I think that it’s going to be amazing!
  3. Sarah Dessen. I seriously feel like I am the only person alive who has not read anything by her. She seems like she is a very popular YA Contemp author, so I think that I must read something by her.
  4. Gayle Forman.  Okay, the truth is that I am reading If I Stay right now, and it’s amazing. I am not finished with it, and I haven’t read anything else by Forman so I really can’t put her on my favorite YA Contemps list until I’ve at least finished a book by her. It is amazing so far. I can’t wait to finish it and start Where She Went.
  5. Jennifer Castle. I haven’t really heard much about her as an author yet, but I stumbled across The Beginning of After at the library and think that it sounds pretty amazing. So, it’s sitting on the huge stack of books I have checked out from the library. I was going to pick it up during the readathon, but it’s a fairly long book. Soon, I hope!

So, all of you YA Contemp readers out there… are any of these your favorite authors? Who else do I need to add to this list?

15 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday (2)

  1. Awesome list! I would definitely recommend Sarah Dessen. I hadn’t read anything by her until this summer and then I read four of her books in a row. She’s a very relatable/realistic author.

  2. Great list! I was late to the Sarah Dessen party too but her books are worth the wait. I liked Along for the Ride, and want to read The Truth About Forever next. Everyone loves Wanderlove and I need to make it a priority to read it soon.
    Hope you enjoy Every Day! It is one of my faves of the year so far. Glad you’re liking If I Stay as well.

  3. I love that you just started reading this genre and decided to do a half and half list… awesome idea! You should definitely read some Sarah Dessen… and Courtney Summers is pretty awesome too!

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT

  4. I’ve read Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares by David Levithan and Rachel Cohn and thought it was great. I really want to read more of their work now 😀

  5. Stephanie Perkins is awesome, I included her in my list too. Her books are so sweet and it’s impossible to not fall in love with her characters. I hope you enjoy Lola and the Boy Next Door as much as I did! I liked it better than Anna….

    Speak is one of my favorite books too. I was surprised that a novel so small could be so powerful.

    -Alysson @ Thought Casters

  6. yes, absolutely do try sarah dessen! her books are a formulaic but i love this lullaby & the truth about forever with all my heart. i hope you also enjoy david levithan!

Show me some love!

