Crank by Ellen Hopkins

Crank is a young adult novel written in verse by Ellen Hopkins. I was hoping to have read and reviewed this back during Banned Books week, but I just wasn’t able to get around to it. But, during the Read-a-thon on October 13th, I was able to get this in.

As I mentioned, it is written in verse. It is about Kristina, a good-girl high school student. Kristina hasn’t seen her father since she was seven years old, and ends up going to visit him in New Mexico. It is while she is visiting her father that she is introduced to “the monster”, crystal meth, also known as “crank”. I absolutely detested her father, he is the King of all deadbeats. Definitely not a role model in Kristina’s life. It is during this visit that Kristina’s life begins to lose control, and she is introduced to Bree. Bree is her alter ego. Her sexy, unafraid– and yet, terribly addicted self.

I have only read one other novel written by Hopkins, and I thought that she dealt with the deeper issues beautifully in both. I think that it is important in this day and age to have novels like this– that deal with the ugliness in truth. Kids are talked at throughout middle and high school about drugs. Stay away from drugs. X, Y, and Z will happen if you use them. I feel like Crank can absolutely be an ally to parents, because it shows that it can turn a good kid bad. It shows you the downward spiral that your life will ultimately go in if you use drugs, and become addicted. You can lose your sense of judgement. You will lose yourself.

I will be going back to read the rest of Hopkins books because I feel that there is a message to be taken away from them. Something meaningful. I have never experimented with drugs in my life, and I was able to take something away. I think that all teenagers should have to read her novels. Because they deal with real issues… and I think they absolutely have the ability to save someone’s life.

2 thoughts on “Crank by Ellen Hopkins

  1. I haven’t read Crank, but I’ve read a few of Hopkins’ books and I really love them. It’s amazing that she’s able to talk about something so horrible with such beautiful words, isn’t it?

  2. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (2) | thebookienook:

Show me some love!

