My Read-a-thon in Review

So, yesterday was my first official read-a-thon. And let me tell you, what a wonderful and awesome experience it was. Seriously, what is better than devoting 24 hours to reading, spending time with the book blogging community, and eating snacks? I really don’t have a negative thing to say about it. Well, other than I went to bed at 2 am and was hoping to be up by six to spend the last two hours reading again. Well. My eyes refused, and I woke up at 8:25. But I’m okay with that!

End of Event Meme

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? 1 am, which was hour 18 for me. I stuck it out til hour 19, and am proud of myself as I had no naps, and had quite a horrible night’s sleep Friday night.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? I definitely think that Ellen Hopkins verse novels would be a great choice. They are long, but read fast. And if you like YA: I did not want to put down Anna and the French Kiss, ya’ll.
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year? I think it was done phenomenally!
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? The mini-challenges were fun, though I didn’t get to do all of them. And the cheerleaders were fantastic!
  5. How many books did you read? From start to finish, I read four different books. And I dabbled in two others.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? If You come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson, Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins, A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams, and Crank by Ellen Hopkins
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? Anna and the French Kiss
  8. Which did you enjoy least? I would say Streetcar– not that I didn’t enjoy it, but I think for a short book, it took me a while to read. And I think I just enjoyed the other books more.
  9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next year’s Cheerleaders? n/a
  10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I would love to participate again, I am sure I’ll be back in April as a reader. I lurked on Twitter, maybe more than I should have and may have squeezed another book in.

Total pages read: 1293 pages

Titles of all books read since I started:

Books I completed:

Books I started:

 

  • If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson If You Come Softly was a re-read for me, something that I read back when I was in high school. It was a meaninful book to me then, and it still is now. I definitely enjoyed it as much as the first time, and will be reviewing it soon. Definitely a tear-jerker.
  • Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins This was the second book that I read, and one that I knew I wanted to squeeze in. I had heard such amazing reads. I loved Anna. Her character was awesome, and St. Clair? There WILL be a review on this one. It is such a wonderful YA Contemp.
  • A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams This was a short classic play, only about 141 pages. I thought that I would fly through it, but it took me longer than I expected. I was a bit tired at this point… but I did enjoy it. This is a re-read from about five years ago. STELLA!
  • Crank by Ellen Hopkins This was my second verse novel by Ellen Hopkins, and it was well written. Her novels read pretty quickly, and generally are dabbled immersed in serious issues. 
  • If I Stay by Gayle Forman I wish that I had started this earlier in the read-a-thon, because I know I would have finished it. I didn’t start it until after 1 am, and I was struggling to see straight. I only got about 30 pages in, but maybe I’ll read it for a while today (instead of writing the reviews that I should be working on….)

 Did you compete? How was your read-a-thon? Have you read any of the books that I read, and what did you think of them? Well… I’m off to maybe do something productive.

5 thoughts on “My Read-a-thon in Review

  1. You did really well! We read about the same and dropped off at around the same time. If I Stay is a book I’d really like to read – I’ll keep an eye out for your review.

  2. Anna and the French Kiss is definitely a good one for readathons. And I don’t know why I didn’t think of Ellen Hopkins… verse novels are always good for quick reading with lots of pages 🙂

    Jane

Show me some love!

