Divergent by Veronica Roth

I had heard a lot of great things about the Divergent series. It seemed like every blog that I read, or vlog that I checked out was talking about how amazing this series was. So, I thought I would check it out. I am so glad I did. If you are thinking about reading this book because of all the hype– don’t think. JUST READ. I read this in two days, tops. And on my first night reading it I put Insurgent on hold at the library. It was that good. Why was it that good? Well, read on my friends!

In Divergent we are introduced to Beatrice Prior, who lives in a future dystopian Chicago. Their society is divided up into a series of five different factions that nurture a particular virtue in its members. There are the Candor (the honest), the Abnegation (the selfless), the Amity (the peaceful), the Dauntless (the brave), and the Erudite (the intelligent). At sixteen years old, on a chosen day, all citizens must choose which faction that they will devote the rest of their lives to.

Beatrice has been raised in Abnegation, the selfless faction, whose lives are 100% about everyone else around them. They do not condone anything that is self indulgent. What do you view as self indulgent? I was amazed, and my jaw almost dropped. They wear plain gray clothes that are buttoned up to the chin, so as not to draw attention to themselves. I thought being in a selfless faction just would mean lots of volunteer type work, etc. They eat plain food, because they don’t need anything more and aren’t allowed to indulge in things like ice cream, or chocolate. And they don’t use mirrors, either. This is the only life that Beatrice has ever known. And, on the day of the ceremony she is forced to choose- to continue to devote herself to her life in Abnegation, or to choose a different faction for the rest of her life. FOR THE REST OF HER LIFE. I mean, seriously. She is sixteen. I am twenty-seven (okay, so 28 next week– but let’s forget about that, ok?), and I don’t even know.

Beatrice makes a decision that shocks herself, her family, and all those at the ceremony. She decides that in her new faction and her new life, that she will have a new beginning. She is not Beatrice anymore– she will be Tris. The initiation transforms Tris, and you can see a real strength there. She must choose new friends, as her the entire life that she has known is gone. And, Tris has a secret that she is hiding. Something that she can never reveal about herself, because it could mean the difference between life and death. I absolutely LOVED this girl.

Divergent is jam packed with action. No matter what twist or turn in the plot, I wasn’t expecting it. At points my jaw literally dropped, and I slapped a hand over my mouth as I gasped. It was that good. There are very few books that elicit a true gasp from me.

And then… Four. No, I’m not randomly choosing a number. That is one of the main characters in Divergent, and he is one of my favorites. I loved the interactions between Tris and Four. He can be a bit jagged, and rough– and there was something fantastic about that. I found myself wondering when he would pop up again in the book.

There was just so much right about this book (in a wrong sort of way). The dystopian Chicago is far from anything you would ever want to imagine. And Tris, along with a cast of other characters have to endure and deal with things that no sixteen year old should ever have to. I was speechless. And emotional. And in love with it.  I’ve put off writing this review for a couple of weeks now, because I knew that it wasn’t going to be eloquent. And I’m okay with that. As long as you get it: this book was bananas. And left me running to the library for Insurgent.

8 thoughts on “Divergent by Veronica Roth

  1. Yay I’m so glad you loved it!!! I really raced through it too! I actually bought Insurgent and i still haven’t read it! AHhh!! But I think I’m getting to it next month 🙂

    • It was great, Brittany! That’s the thing about reading a series after they’ve already published the sequel — it’s so accessible. I hope you enjoy Insurgent. I’m looking forward to the last book in the series!

  2. Divergent was of books that I just could NOT put down! So so good!! And I just finished Insurgent and it’s just as amazing!! 🙂

  3. I really liked Divergent, too, and I rushed right out to read Insurgent. Ever since I read (and loved) it, I’ve seen a lot of people tearing it apart on the blogs. I read their criticisms say…”well, that’s true,” think about it some more, and decide that I still love Divergent. 😉

  4. Pingback: It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? (2) | thebookienook:

Show me some love!

