Read-a-thon Book Pile Reveal!

Okay, so I have spent the past few days putting together my reading list for this event, and I know that there is no way that I will read them all. However, it would be nice to at least get two or three of them read. I’m extremely interested to see what everyone else is reading, so please comment below!

If You Come Softly by Jacqueline Woodson

Page Count: 181 pages

Why I’m reading it: It’s a short read, and I haven’t read this book in about ten years. It was one of my favorites as a teen

The blurb: Jerimiah and Elisha. Miah and Ellie. Those are their names– but words are fragile and illusory. They could both tell you about the moment they first saw each other, in the crowded hallway at Percy Academy, the private school they each unwillingly attend; they could track the days and the moments until they were alone, together, and kissed for the first time. A first love is special and rare– but the world around Ellie and Miah doesn’t see it like that. All they see is this: Ellie is Jewish. Miah is black. And, to the world, the word “love” means nothing.

***

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

Page Count: 276 pages

Why I’m reading it: Every. Single. YA Blogger. Recommends. Must read it soon!

The Blurb: Belly measures her life in summers. Everything good, everything magical happens between the months of June and August. Winters are simply a time to count the weeks until the next summer, a place away from the beach house, away from Susannah, and most importantly, away from Jeremiah and Conrad. They are the boys that Belly has known since her very first summer–they have been her brother figures, her crushes, and everything in between. But one summer, one terrible and wonderful summer, the more everything changes, the more it all ends up just the way it should have been all along.

***

Like Mandarin by Kirsten Hubbard

Page Count: 305 pages

Why I’m reading it: I read Wanderlove a few months ago, and fell in love with Hubbard’s writing. I am hoping that her 2011 debut is just as good!

The Blurb: It’s hard finding beauty in the badlands of Washokey, Wyoming, but 14-year-old Grace Carpenter knows it’s not her mother’s pageant obsessions, or the cowboy dances adored by her small-town classmates. True beauty is wild-girl Mandarin Ramey: 17, shameless and utterly carefree. Grace would give anything to be like Mandarin.

When they’re united for a project, they form an unlikely, explosive friendship, packed with nights spent skinny-dipping in the canal, liberating the town’s animal-head trophies, and searching for someplace magic. Grace plays along when Mandarin suggests they run away together. Blame it on the crazy-making wildwinds plaguing their Badlands town.

Because all too soon, Grace discovers Mandarin’s unique beauty hides a girl who’s troubled, broken, and even dangerous. And no matter how hard Grace fights to keep the magic, no friendship can withstand betrayal.

***

A Streetcar Named Desire by Tennessee Williams

Page count: 142 pages

Why I’m reading it: I read this probably about five years ago, and thought it would be a great short book to break it up a bit. And, it’s on my list for Classics Club!

The Blurb: Blanche DuBois arrives at her sister Stella’s New Orleans apartment seeking refuge from a troubled past but her ethereal spirit irks Stella’s husband, the loutish Stanley Kowalski. Crudely, relentlessly, he unmasks the lies and delusions that sustain Blanche, until her frail hold on reality is shockingly severed.

***

Crank by Ellen Hopkins

Page Count: 537 pages

Why I’m reading it: I read Tilt, which was my first book by Ellen Hopkins. It was  great, and a fast read.

The Blurb: In Crank, Ellen Hopkins chronicles the turbulent and often disturbing relationship between Kristina, a character based on her own daughter, and the “monster,” the highly addictive drug crystal meth, or “crank.” Kristina is introduced to the drug while visiting her largely absent and ne’er-do-well father. While under the influence of the monster, Kristina discovers her sexy alter-ego, Bree: “there is no perfect daughter, / no gifted high school junior, / no Kristina Georgia Snow. / There is only Bree.” Bree will do all the things good girl Kristina won’t, including attracting the attention of dangerous boys who can provide her with a steady flow of crank.
Soon, her grades plummet, her relationships with family and friends deteriorate, and she needs more and more of the monster just to get through the day. Kristina hits her lowest point when she is raped by one of her drug dealers and becomes pregnant as a result. Her decision to keep the baby slows her drug use, but doesn’t stop it, and the author leaves the reader with the distinct impression that Kristina/Bree may never be free from her addiction.

***

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Page Count: 372 pages

Why I’m reading it: Because of all the awesome blogger recommendations on this!

The Blurb: Anna is looking forward to her senior year in Atlanta, where she has a great job, a loyal best friend, and a crush on the verge of becoming more. Which is why she is less than thrilled about being shipped off to boarding school in Paris – until she meets Etienne St. Clair: perfect, Parisian (and English and American, which makes for a swoon-worthy accent), and utterly irresistible. The only problem is that he’s taken, and Anna might be, too, if anything comes of her almost-relationship back home. As winter melts into spring, will a year of romantic near – misses end with the French kiss Anna – and readers – have long awaited?

***

If I Stay by Gayle Forman

Page Count: 262 pages

Why I’m reading it: I just happened to stumble across it over at The Perpetual Page Turner today, and thought I should give it a shot!

The Blurb: In a single moment, everything changes. Seventeen-year-old Mia has no memory of the accident; she can only recall riding along the snow-wet Oregon road with her family. Then, in a blink, she finds herself watching as her own damaged body is taken from the wreck…

A sophisticated, layered, and heart-achingly beautiful story about the power of family and friends, the choices we all make, and the ultimate choice Mia commands

***

Everneath by Brodi Ashton

Page Count: 370 pages

Why I’m reading it: It’s on my fall TBR list!

The Blurb: Last spring, Nikki Beckett vanished, sucked into an underworld known as the Everneath. Now she’s returned–to her old life, her family, her boyfriend–before she’s banished back to the underworld . . . this time forever. She has six months before the Everneath comes to claim her, six months for good-byes she can’t find the words for, six months to find redemption, if it exists.

Nikki longs to spend these precious months forgetting the Everneath and trying to reconnect with her boyfriend, Jack, the person most devastated by her disappearance–and the one person she loves more than anything. But there’s just one problem: Cole, the smoldering immortal who enticed her to the Everneath in the first place, has followed Nikki home. Cole wants to take over the throne in the underworld and is convinced Nikki is the key to making it happen. And he’ll do whatever it takes to bring her back, this time as his queen.

As Nikki’s time on the Surface draws to a close and her relationships begin slipping from her grasp, she is forced to make the hardest decision of her life: find a way to cheat fate and remain on the Surface with Jack or return to the Everneath and become Cole’s queen.

***

The Beginning of After by Jennifer Castle

Page Count: 424 pages

Why I’m reading it: I picked this up at the library a few weeks ago, after stumbling across it. I haven’t read it yet.

The Blurb: Anyone who’s had something truly crappy happen to them will tell you: It’s all about Before and After. What I’m talking about here is the “ka-pow,” shake-you-to-your-core-and-turn-your-bones-to-plastic kind of crappy.

Sixteen-year-old Laurel’s world changes instantly when her parents and brother are killed in a terrible car accident. Behind the wheel is the father of her bad-boy neighbor, David Kaufman, whose mother is also killed. In the aftermath of the tragedy, Laurel navigates a new reality in which she and her best friend grow apart, boys may or may not be approaching her out of pity, overpowering memories lurk everywhere, and Mr. Kaufman is comatose but still very much alive. Through it all there is David, who swoops in and out of Laurel’s life and to whom she finds herself attracted against her better judgment. She will forever be connected to him by their mutual loss–a connection that will change them both in unexpected ways.

***

So, looking over my list now I am very aware that my list is predominantly YA Contemps. I don’t feel like I’ve read enough of them this year, and I am feeling very deprived of them. I’ve been reading a lot of  paranormal, dystopian, and thrillers as of late. I definitely need a little contemporary in my life!

So, what will I read and what won’t I get to? Well. We’ll find out come Sunday morning, won’t we?

Tomorrow I will be stopping at Wegmans on my way home from work– stocking up on some Iced Cofee and snacks for the read-a-thon. I think I’m going to put together a template for my posts, too, to save me some time on Saturday. What are you doing to prepare?

15 thoughts on “Read-a-thon Book Pile Reveal!

  1. Anna and the French Kiss is such a good read! I hope you love it as much as I did. I haven’t found a play to put in my pile yet. I think it’s a great idea that you added one for Saturday. Jacqueline Woodson is an amazing writer! I can’t read Locomotion without crying like a baby. Happy reading!

    • I actually had a copy of Streetcar, and figured it would be a quicker read. Jacqueline Woodson is a great author! I have The House You Pass on the Way By, so if I’m struggling I’ll read that one Saturday. It’s only around 100 pages 😉

  2. You have a lot of great books here. I love YA contemporary and I have a lot in my readathon pile too. I’m preparing my update posts too so I can spend more time reading than writing posts. Good luck on making it through the pile!

  3. Eeeeep! I’m so glad to see Anna and the French Kiss and If I Stay on your list! Those are both two of my very very favorites!!!! I really hope you enjoy them 🙂

    • I am super excited! I feel like tomorrow is Christmas, and my husband thinks I’m insane. But it’s all good 😉 Off to bed shortly to get a good night’s sleep, so I can read the day (and night?) away tomorrow!

  4. So many fantastic books to choose from! I hope you’ll enjoy them and best of luck with the read-a-thon!

  5. Pingback: Read-a-thon… ready, set, go! | thebookienook:

  6. Great list! I know what you mean about taking advantage of the event to squeeze in reading that you haven’t had time for lately, and YA is great for keeping the pages turning. Enjoy! #cheersmarties

  7. Pingback: Homepage

Show me some love!

