Book Haul (1), and other Monday goodness!

So, I thought that Mondays would be the perfect day to post a little bit of everything: my library book haul this week, what I’m currently reading, and which posts to look forward to this week. Monday may very well be the hardest day for me during the workweek, so I thought I’d share something fun with you!

Library Book Haul

  • The Diviners by Libba Bray I decided that I absolutely had to read The Diviners after reading a review that was posted over at Xpresso Reads, check that review out here: http://www.xpressoreads.com/2012/09/review-diviners-by-libba-bray.html
  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater This is one of the September releases that I have been awaiting impatiently. So glad I was able to get it!
  • The City of Bones by Cassandra Clare This is a series that I have said I would give a shot for a while now, so I finally checked it out from the library. I am hoping that I like these… I am only, what, five books behind? Oye!
  • Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson I am a huge supporter of Banned Books Week, so I am reading Speak in honor of that. I am a huge fan of Laurie Halse Anderson’s writing!
  • Everneath by Brodi Ashton This one I am just reading because I read the synopsis on Goodreads a while ago, and thought that it sounded like it would be a good read. Hopefully I won’t be disappointed!
  • Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver I read the first book in the series recently, I felt like it had a lot of promise… but I just wanted more from it. There are a lot of reviewers and bloggers who felt the same way who loved Pandemonium. So, I’m hoping that I will feel the same!
  • Divergent by Veronica Roth I feel like I am the only reader out there who has not read the Divergent series yet, so I have decided to finally remedy that! (okay, this one is not pictured above, because I had just finished it & returned it to the library… now just waiting for Insurgent to arrive for little old me!)
  • The Beginning of After by Jennifer Castle Do you ever browse the shelves at the library, and say to yourself “I’m just browsing… I’m not going to find anything.” Yeah, well. I was wrong. I feel like my current to-read books do not have enough YA Contemps, so I will give this one a go!

Current Reads

Unspoken (The Lynburg Legacy #1) by Sarah Rees Brennan

I have also heard some great things about Unspoken (The Lynburn Legacy #1) by Sarah Rees Brennan, but was bummed to find out that my library didn’t carry it. So, I headed off to Barnes & Noble who also did not have a copy (at this point, I think was a conspiracy to keep me from this novel’s awesomeness). Borders went out last year, so now I have to drive about 25 minutes to get to my closest book store. Bummed! So, when I got home I promptly ordered Unspoken on my Kindle, and am about 25% done at this point. This is a great book so far, and I am looking forward to reading some more of it tonight, with a lovely glass of wine!

Speak by Laurie Halse-Anderson

I am nearly done with Speak now. This is my second time reading this book, the first time that I read it I was still in high school myself. This is an amazingly written novel. And as I mentioned above, the reason that I am reading it is for Banned Book Week. I will be posting a review and a book giveaway to kick of Banned Book Week. Thanks to Sheila for sponsoring this. You can check out her original post here: http://bookjourney.wordpress.com/2012/09/05/banned-book-week-needs-you-looking-for-host-blogs-to-celebrate-with-me/. I know that a book hasn’t been banned in many years, but books are challenged regularly. And I think that the responsibility of whether to censor or not should be explicitly up to the parents, not the government.  Enough about that for now… check back here on Sunday September 30th for a special post, and giveaway.

One thought on “Book Haul (1), and other Monday goodness!

Show me some love!

