Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard

Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard is a story about a recent high school graduate named Bria Sandoval. There is so much that can be said about Wanderlove. Originally, Bria is supposed to go on a trip with her two closest friends from high school- Olivia and Reese, the summer before they start college. But, both girls back out and Bria is left to decide what to do. She decides that she will not let her friends(albeit, not very good friends), or her self-centered ex-boyfriend dictate this about her. So, she signs up for a travel group which is called The Global Vagabonds, where she will travel throughout Central America for two weeks.

 

Bria is not quite sure which direction that she is going in life. Not only did he break her heart– but he also ruined the direction that her life was headed. He took away the one thing that she used to enjoy the most, her art. She was planning on going to school.

 

Bria unwittingly stumbles upon a pair of travelers that she pictures herself as: Rowan and Starling. They are the kind of travelers who like to wander from the beaten trail, and discover something new. The kind of traveling that Bria knows nothing about. I have never had the chance to travel around the world, but reading Wanderlove made me want to pack my bags and go on an adventure! I myself still relating to the novel despite this though, because of Bria. She was real– she was not perfect and without flaws. At times she was incredibly uncomfortable in her own skin. She was not a character who was incredibly clean around the edges. She was so real. Because, who didn’t have reservations as a teenager?

 

I really don’t think that any review that I write will give Wanderlove justice, which is why it has taken me so long to write this review since I read it. There was such beauty to this book, and I found it to be very realistic. I think that in life we all have that period in our lives where we are discovering which direction our lives will go. Not only that, but discovering who we are. That’s what this book was to me. One girl’s journey of discovering herself. And to each person I think that would be completely different. So: if you are a teenager and looking for a book to read to realize that you are not alone in that confusion, read this book. If you are an adult, but want a book that you can read that will help you remember those teenage books, read this book. I am sure you won’t regret it.

 

My Rating: 5 Stars

My Rating: 5 Stars

 

One thought on “Wanderlove by Kirsten Hubbard

Show me some love!

